Gear Review: Triple Guitar Stand


I’ve been wanting one of these for a little while. My guitar to stand ratio was getting a little unbalanced. I had visited my local music shop to buy one, but they don’t sell the three-guitar stands there; strictly singles. So I went to the other music shop way on the other side of town and sure enough, they sell them there.

But the price tag was $111.99!

I had to wait a minute until the counterman was off the phone so I could ask him about the obvious error in pricing. “Surely that can’t be the correct price,” I said.

“It is the correct price. And I didn’t even catch that Airplane! reference,” he replied.

He went on to tell me that he only ordered the good ones in so they wouldn’t break. Those babies never come apart, he told me. I guess a few customers had returned some because they broke, but I didn’t think to ask him what the hell the customers were doing with the things. I had one years ago that I took to shows when the band I was in insisted that we needed to use two different tunings at every show and I never had a bit of trouble with the cheap model. I only got rid of it because I downsized to move into a smaller place and I wasn’t playing as much. Wherever it is now I’m guessing it’s still doing the job of holding guitars without spontaneously combusting.

If I’m going to buy a stand for $100 it better polish, tune and change the strings on all of those guitars too!

In summation: Always buy local. Unless the local shop is charging ridiculously exorbitant prices. Then buy online.

A picture of the cheap stand I bought. As you will notice it is holding three guitars.

7 thoughts on “Gear Review: Triple Guitar Stand

  1. And don’t call me Shirley! LOL Man I love Airplane. “We have clearance, Clarence. Rodger, Roger. What’s our vector, Victor?” Oh man.

    Sometimes you can get in-store deals, too. I have a 5-guitar stand I got used at my local shoppe for $40. It was basically in new shape. It holds my four electrics. It could hold the acoustic off the end but also kinda not, so that’s on its own single stand.

    Those 3-guitar stands are neat, a good use of corner space. Love the cut-away on that acoustic!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment